loop

Some free writing I did a long time back. I happened to come across it while sorting out my stuff and thought, why not? So, here goes…

Once upon a time there lived an old man. Except, he wasn’t really an old man. He wasn’t completely a man, either. Well, perhaps that makes calling him a “he” a bit inappropriate, I suppose. Let’s start over then, shall we?

Once upon a time, there lived a not-very-old person with male characteristics. Except that time is another character in this story. So if the story starts with ‘once upon a time, there lived a not-very-old person with male characteristics’, then that means that said person lived upon, as in atop time, the character.

But that makes no sense. How can one character live over another when they’re of the same size? Except you didn’t really know that now, did you? Spoiler alert, I guess. I believe it’s time to start over the start over.

Once upon a time, not time the character, there lived a not-very-old person with male characteristics. His name was Time. I mean, almost-him. Uh-huh, I didn’t tell you his, I mean almost-his, name is Time did I? Start over the start over of the start over? It is kind of incredible though that now that you have all of this information, you might reread the first sentence of this story and appreciate the loop in it. According to that, this almost-man person called Time lived upon himself! Now that’s a loop, if ever I saw one. Go on, reread the first sentence.

